Guest Writer Wednesday: Gemma Juliana

The Sheikh's Spy - Web FSWelcome to today’s Guest Writer, Gemma Juliana! I really enjoyed Gemma’s interview and I hope you will, too.

Share a little bit about your writing style. What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? What do you love to write about?

I’ve been writing for nearly thirty years on and off, and am interested in many genres. It was difficult to focus on just one, once I decided to indie publish. The year 2013 has been largely dedicated to one series, and only one novella remains to be written for the series to be complete, at least for now.

I enjoy blending romance with suspense and a few paranormal elements. The mysterious and unknown always draw me. Ideas for future stories come constantly and I try to make notes before I forget the details.

When it comes to the daily discipline of writing, I need quiet and preferably keep the door closed so my husband and son do not interrupt me. I leave my phone on voicemail and do not check emails. Once distracted, I find it hard to get back on course.

What can we expect when we experience one of your books?

So far my focus has been on novellas. I hope when you read one of my books you will become immersed in the fantasy world I have crafted, populated with passionate, driven heroes and feisty heroines. These characters have risked so much to gain freedom and love.

Tell us a little about your latest release, or your favorite among all of your books.

My latest release is The Sheikh’s Crowning, in the Sheikhs of the Golden Triangle series. It is the story of a widowed princess who fears losing her true love to danger and death, and an undercover agent who believes he has nothing to offer a princess. Yasmine is afraid to love Rick because of his dangerous career, until an unexpected twist turns the tables. Danger lurks in many places. When the mysterious amulet that has protected her family for generations reappears, will its powers be strong enough to save them from a lethal enemy out for revenge?

Since we are in the early part of the holiday season, I’d like to mention a story that is very dear to my heart, my novella Christmas Spirits. I love this book because it fits the theme of undying, eternal love that reaches beyond time and place. It is part of the same series, but is a ghost story that takes place in a magnificent Irish castle – Winterthorne Castle.

If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do?

It would probably be Richard Branson, who is a fascinating man in many ways and I suspect a rogue at heart. I believe he has a spacecraft that will soon take people on trips into space, so our date would be a journey into space. Since both he and I are happily married to others, this is as much a work of fiction as my stories!

What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else?

My darling husband makes jewelry for me regularly. He knows what I love, and depending on whether it is a special occasion like birthdays or Christmas, or just because he feels like it, he will put together something special and surprise me with it when I least expect it.

Christmas Spirits - Web FSShare your favorite romantic or sexy song and why you love it so much.

Tina Turner’s music, and I can’t pick just one song. There’s a sexy quality in her voice that ripples through every word she sings. Her own journey as an abused woman to an empowered woman who found true love, adds to the expression of her music.

Anything else?

Please visit my website at www.gemmajuliana.com to find out more about my Sheikhs of the Golden Triangle series. There are other stories on there as well, and two more titles will be launched before the end of this year, including a Halloween masquerade story and my first bridal book. I am very excited about the stunning book cover for the Halloween story – it should be uploaded by this weekend. You can sign up for my newsletter on the home page, and follow me on Twitter: @Gemma_Juliana. The Sheikh’s Crowning is available on Amazon at: http://amzn.com/B00F8VYHQY

Thanks so much for having me, Sara!

Happy Holidays, everyone! May your winter sparkle with hope and joy.

2 thoughts on “Guest Writer Wednesday: Gemma Juliana

  1. Gemma Juliana October 30, 2013 / 11:58 pm

    Sara,

    Thanks for having me today! You did a lovely job presenting the blog post.

    • sarajschmidt October 31, 2013 / 12:07 am

      Thanks for visiting, Gemma! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.