Guest Writer Wednesday: Mychael Black!

Today’s guest writer is the amazing Mychael Black! Mychael’s writing is deep and scintillating, a truly rare combination. Her work is poetic and haunting, pairing smoldering sex alongside holler-deep, soulful characters. In other words, it’s the kind of writing that I dig best!

Mychael agreed to take the Sara Jay’s Erotica interrogation–I mean interview!–with us this week.

Share a little bit about your writing style. What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? What do you love to write about?

When it comes to genres, I’ll try writing almost anything once, but I have an affinity for fantasy and paranormal. As for the heroes/heroines… I loved characters who are flawed in some way, whether that flaw is visible or not. I love pretty men, rugged men, scarred men… the list goes on. Women, I like them to be curvy and intelligent, very independent, and possess a bit of a smartass streak. I don’t write wallflowers of any gender.

What can we expect when we experience one of your books?

Well, my hope is that my books provide a bit of an escape. I love hearing from readers who got so involved with the characters, so sucked into the world, that real life disappeared.

Tell us a little about your latest release, or your favorite among all of your books.

I have a lot of favorites in my own backlist, to be honest. Some are due to the worlds, some due to the characters. If I had to pick one, though, it would be the latest addition to my sci-fi series with Changeling Press. Coriolis is the series, and book one (Distress Signal) is out now. Book two (Kill Fee), however, was amazingly fun to write, and I’m thoroughly in love with Morgan and Joren–the two main characters in book 2. That one comes out at the beginning of April, I believe.

If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do?

*snorts* That’s easy. Johnny Depp. As for what we’d do… *grins* Do I REALLY have to explain that one?

What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else?

When my partner, Al, proposed for a handfasting (pagan marriage/union). He knows I love Godiva chocolates, so when he proposed in 2001, he put the ring under a truffle in a box of four. We were sitting in his car when he gave me the box.

Share your favorite romantic or sexy song and why you love it so much.

“Mea Culpa” by Enigma. It’s… hard to describe. If you’ve ever listened to anything by Enigma, you’ll understand. It’s seductive and sexy and soul-deep.

Anything else?

Thanks for letting me drop by! Readers can find me in the following places, and I always do my absolute best to answer emails or messages through Facebook.

Website: http://www.mychaelblackbooks.com/

Shayne’s (my co-author) website: http://www.shaynetheauthor.com/

Blog: http://www.mychaelblackbooks.com/category/blog/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mychael.black

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kjohnson1976

Email: mychaelblack@gmail.com

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

