Guest Writer Wednesday: Carlie Sexton

fallenToday at Sara Jay’s Erotica we are interviewing Carlie Sexton, author of Fallen for You. In addition to our regular interview, Carlie gave us a little insight into her first book:

Fallen for You (The Killer Next Door, Part 1) is my debut novel. I have immensely enjoyed writing my romantic thriller. As a teacher, it has been my profound joy to teach children how to read. Nothing is better than seeing a child’s face light up when reading a book. Never in a million years did I think I would become an author. But due to a conversation with a coworker who told me he was writing a book, I began to think of my own stories.

In this conversation I learned that another coworker’s wife was already writing. That turned out to be Raine Miller. She was kind enough to guide and mentor me. I have to say that this may not have come to fruition if it hadn’t been for her. All of her advice and expertise has had a profound impact on my making my dream a reality.

I love that story and wish you lots of luck, Carlie! What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? I am attracted to strong, confident heroes that know what they want and go after it. I do have to say that I don’t love the controlling type. I want a hero that allows the heroine to be herself and to evolve into the woman she is meant to be.

Absolutely. What do you love to write about? I love to write about relationships. I expect that all of my books will be romantic in nature.

What can we expect when we experience one of your books? In my first series you can expect romance, but also thrill. I have surprised the bloggers who have read my first book with my twists and turns. Several said that they thought the book was going in one direction only to be led in another. I love the element of surprise and hope to maintain that in all of my writing.

Oh, I love a good surprise! Tell us a little about your latest release. My debut release is about Kate, a beautiful young woman attempting to get over her tragic loss. She has avoided men, but suddenly finds herself meeting three eligible bachelors within a few weeks of each other. One is a player, one is a good man, one is a sociopath. The choices she makes has dire consequences and she finds that she and her roommate are living in danger.

Wow, that sounds so intriguing. If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do? I’d have to say that I would go out with one of my muses, Aiden Turner. I first saw him on All My Children and have always thought he was a handsome man. I think it would be romantic to spend an afternoon on the ocean whale watching followed by a romantic dinner.

Sounds like a lovely date plan to me. What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else? I’d have to say that my husband is a very romantic guy. It is difficult to pinpoint one romantic gesture. He is always holding my hand, kissing me, telling me how much he loves me, wants me, needs me. My husband adores me and in my book that’s pretty romantic.

He sounds like a really sweet husband. Thanks for coming by, Carlie!

Here’s a sneak peek at Fallen for You.

Blurb~ back cover:
If you believe your life is the sum total of your choices, what do you do when things just don’t add up? You are about to find out. It won’t be pretty. It won’t be dull. And surely, it won’t be safe. In fact, making just one wrong choice could put evil at your bedside watching you sleep.

And so it is with Kate Simmons, a young woman who, by choosing to regain her life, actually puts it at risk by the very choices she makes. After unimaginable heartbreak stops her world on a dime, Kate falls into a three-year blackness of self-blame that brings her to the edge of life, itself. As time finally brings light back through tiny cracks of renewed desire, Kate moves out of the prison she made for herself in her mother’s home to find a new reality, rooming with her best girlfriend, Charlie.

Yet, to be free is to be vulnerable, and Kate’s choices more than ever mark a splattered line between being happy and being dead.

Care to choose? Here’s your menu:
A strangely alluring building manager so possessed with wanting you for his own, he’ll bury more than the fact he has a girlfriend; a buff college student for whom you are clearly hot, as are all the other girls on campus; a pushy lawyer who is as handsome as he is intoxicated with conquest, who doesn’t take no for an answer, who gets what he wants — always.

Sometimes, it’s whom you choose. Sometimes, it’s who chooses you. If you’re Kate, it’s both, and it puts you on a perilous road where good looks and humor are the thin masks of jealous delusion and utter violence.

You’re in trouble when the sum total of your choices is written in blood red.

Buy Links:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D7NQSIU/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_ask_uo-gF.0KT8KHS
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/fallen-foryou?keyword=fallen+for+you&store=nookstore
http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Fallen-For-You-The-Killer/book-lJDcmHofdkCZjxtJrK5R1A/page1.html
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id658561463
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17980984-fallen-for-you?ac=1

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

1 thought on “Guest Writer Wednesday: Carlie Sexton”

Leave a Reply

