Guest Writer Wednesday: Interview with Kate Hill!

Male model in studio against black backgroundI just love Kate Hill. Not only is she a talented author, she’s also one of the sweetest authors you’ll ever meet. She’s here with us today sharing insights about her writing and some information about her latest book from Changeling Press, Cloak and Dagger.

Share a little bit about your writing style. What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? What do you love to write about?

I love pretty much all kinds of romance-erotic, traditional, paranormal, sci-fi, fantasy and historical. I’m attracted to heroes with dark secrets, brooding and tortured heroes. I love rebellious characters.

Gotta love the tortured hero! What can we expect when we experience one of your books?

Usually you can expect something paranormal, whether it’s a major part of the plot or a little flavor. You can usually expect some angst, action and danger. After all that, I generally like to deliver a happily ever after!

Oh, I am such a sucker for angst! Tell us a little about your latest release, or your favorite among all of your books.

My latest release is Cloak and Dagger, the third story in the Weapons of Redemption series (writing as Saloni Quinby). The series focuses on five men who were abducted by a vampire pirate. They finally escaped their master and now use their powers to protect others. In Cloak and Dagger, Bryce finds the man he believes is the reincarnation of his lover from two thousand years ago. Shane, a vampire hunter, is willing to do anything it takes to protect his brother, including seduce Bryce, but he doesn’t count on falling in love with one of the creatures he hunts.

That sounds amazing; I love stories of reincarnation, and protective heroes are the best. If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do?

By now any old crushes have lost their charm! How about a fictional crush? I’ve always liked Methos from the 1990s Highlander TV series. Maybe sparring, then dinner. I’d like to get some sparring tips from a five thousand year old warrior!

Nice! What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else?

Honestly, all my romantic inclinations come out in my books. My real life is pretty average and lacking in romance!

Hey, when you invent your own, they’re pretty perfect. Share your favorite romantic or sexy song and why you love it so much.

Hard choice, but I’ll go with “Old Souls” from the movie Phantom of the Paradise because it’s both sad and romantic.

There’s that angst again! Anything else?

I’d like to share an excerpt from my latest release, Cloak and Dagger. Hope you enjoy it!

The following excerpt from Cloak and Dagger is for readers 18 and over.

“I want to help you, Shane. I do, but I have procedures I need to follow.”

Shane took a step closer to him, so close that their chests nearly touched. He could see the pale gray ring around Shane’s blue irises. He noticed the thickness of his dark lashes and pattern of stubble on his chin. It took all his restraint not to kiss Shane’s sexy neck or claim his sweet lips.

Bryce’s heartbeat quickened. For two thousand years he’d dreamed of kissing and holding Ronan again. He’d thought his lover was lost to him forever. This man might not be Ronan, but he was so much like him. It was sweet torture being this close to him. Remembering.

Bryce cupped the back of Shane’s head and covered his mouth in a kiss. Shane stiffened at first, then relaxed. His lips opened to Bryce and their tongues thrust against each other, tasting and exploring. When the kiss finally broke, both were a little breathless.

“I’m sorry. That was completely out of line.” Bryce closed his eyes for a moment and shook his head. He’d risked his job, his —

All thoughts vanished as Shane kissed him again, even harder and deeper than before. Bryce clung to Shane, loving his taste, his warmth and his scent. He relished the lean hardness of his body and the pressure of his cock. Grasping Shane’s arms, Bryce reluctantly pulled away.

“This isn’t right,” Bryce breathed. “I’m sorry.”

“No. I’m sorry,” Shane said, his voice huskier than usual. “It’s just from the minute I saw you…I can’t explain why, but I’m drawn to you. I’ve never felt anything like this before.”

“I have,” Bryce murmured. “Just once.”

They locked gazes and again reached for each other simultaneously. Their hands traveled over each other’s bodies, tugging shirts from pants.

Weapons of Redemption 3: Cloak and Dagger by Saloni Quinby

From Changeling Press

Visit Kate Hill/Saloni Quinby on line at http://www.kate-hill.com.

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

