The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Wendi Zwaduck tagged me on her Next Big Thing Blog Hop meme, and I’m happy to oblige! I actually love these things. 😉

On your blog, put up a post about your next project, your NEXT BIG THING. Once you have your 3 or 4 other authors to invite, then cut and paste these instructions and email it on to them with your info in place of mine. The post on your blog might include the person inviting you, but the questions answered are all about you and your work!

1: What is the working title of your book(s)?
I just finished a green man/human romance called Falling for Fall, which will be out in August. It’s about paranormal investigators, creepy creatures and a forest god who will do anything to make Autumn, a human detective, his! Right now, I’m working on a cougar romance featuring a farmboy ghost in Boo to You, Mrs. Robinson. It will be out in September. Then I have three others out in October, November, and December: Tricks for Treats, Reindeer Games and Darkness Falls.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?
Falling for Fall started out as a Changeling Flash Fiction story at the reader loop. I merged it with a paranormal investigation story that I was playing with at the time.

3: What genre does your book come under?
Paranormal erotic romance. There’s some suspense and a bit of romantic comedy as well.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Theo, the Green Man, is almost never serious. His mind is almost always in the gutter, too. I like the idea of Jared Padalecki playing him, although Theo’s a bit shorter. I like Lily Collins for Autumn. I think she’s got the gumption to play this tough-as-nails, hard-to-get detective.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
When Theo wants more from their relationship and a grisly case forces her to see him in a new way, can Autumn admit she’s falling for Fall?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?
It’s another release from Changeling Press, of course! 🙂

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
My first draft a few days, but they were spaced apart. This one really flowed once I got into it. I had toyed with making it a menage but it just didn’t fit the bill. May and especially June were difficult months for my family, so I also had some challenges writing during these months.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I don’t know of any specific books that inspired this story, but I’ve been reading a lot of Megan Slayer’s books (Followed, Paid in Full and Destined) lately and her style definitely influenced me. I’ve been trying to slow down in my books; I have a bad habit of just paring everything down to the need-to-know bits. Fiction just isn’t like my regular freelance writing. Megan has these great scenes where she describes everything down to the last detail and I really tried to do that in this book. So hopefully you’ll get lost in some of the descriptions and really absorbed into the book.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?
The flash fic prompt–being locked out of your house in just your pajamas–was the original inspiration.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
There’s a couple of small twists–not the big red herring you normally get from a Sara Jay book, but a few surprises nonetheless. There’s also a supernatural case that Theo and Autumn have to solve that involves grooms being turned into creatures and engaging in evil deeds at the altar!

I’m tagging Kira Stone, Ayla Ruse, Blak Rayne and Kate Hill.

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

