Blogger Book Fair Guest: Drako

Fatal_HealingAs part of the Blogger Book Fair, we’ll have several guests at Sara Jay’s this week! Today’s special guest is author Drako. Drako agreed to give us a peek at several books as well as an interview. Enjoy!

Share a little bit about your writing style. What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? What do you love to write about?
My writing style is a little harder for me to define, so I’ll use the words of one of my reviewers. My style is very masculine, considering I write in a female dominated genre of paranormal/fantasy romance. I have discovered that any character I write has to have some sort of fantasy element to them. I can’t write just a normal character. Feels strange when I try. All of my books tend to highlight two concepts, soul mates and the battle of good vs. evil.

I love books like that! What can we expect when we experience one of your books?
Expect the unexpected. When you start at the beginning of the series, you may get an idea of certain pairings in addition to the obvious pairing in that book. Don’t assume anything until you read the next book. My characters have a way of changing their minds.

All of the best books have surprises. Tell us a little about your latest release, or your favorite among all of your books.
I don’t pick favorites, so I’ll just tell a bit about my latest, Heir of Mjölnir. This is the fourth book in my Dragon Hunters series. The main character is Vax, a mortal born witch and servant of the goddess Hecate. The mortal world has been infiltrated by Lucifer under the guise of the one true god. Vax is among the few who can see through his lies. Hecate gives him a task, to earn the legendary weapon Mjölnir and use it to cast Lucifer out of their world and into the hands of the god above him.

I love it. It sounds like it has the makings of an epic fantasy movie. If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do?
Ooh, now there’s a question that takes some thinking about. And I can only pick one. Hmm, I’d go with Shemar Moore, the actor who most know nowadays as Morgan on Criminal minds. Why? Because he’s hot and inspires fantasies. As for what I’d do, let’s go with the traditional dinner and a movie, then back to his place and I’ll let you figure out what happens after. I think an overnight date would be most appropriate lol

Nice! What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else?
Ironically, I don’t get much in the way of romance directed my way. Weird for a romance writer. But I do make romantic gestures. For my ex, I planned out a ruse on our anniversary with his best friend. His friend came to get him during the day to get him out of my hair so I could set up. I went out and got a whole bunch of candles, bubble bath, and dinner. I set up candles in the living room, the kitchen, the bathroom and the bedroom. There was a bubble bath run and waiting for him when he came in. So there was dinner, a nice bath, a massage, dessert, and the obvious all together.

That’s so lovely. Share your favorite romantic or sexy song and why you love it so much.
Ok, this will probably sound bad, but my favorite would be “Do it to Me” by Usher. I got a chuckle as I wrote that but it’s true. It’s direct, obviously, but the way he sings it and the beat of the song just rocks and sets the mood quite nicely for me.

Not bad at all–we feature some hard songs here sometimes! Anything else?
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/drakosden
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/drakosden
Website: http://www.drakosden.net or http://www.drakosden.com (same site, just different ways to get there). These are also my blog and I take review requests for any author in need of them there.
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Drako/e/B0089AP3AU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

