Guest Writer Wednesday: Kate Hill

northmanspleasuremedKate Hill is back with us today, and she’s sharing some super hot details about her new book, Northman’s Pleasure! Kate is giving us an interview with Grim Hammerhand from the book and I’m so excited to share it with you:

An Interview with Grim Hammerhand from Northman’s Pleasure by Kate Hill

 

Where are you from?

I was born in a village far south of here. My mother was a slave and my father was a trader passing through.

How did you become a warrior?

When I was five years old, a metal worker named Atli fell in love with my mother. He bought our freedom and married her. Atli taught me how to make weapons and also how to use them, but I had natural talent. From the moment I picked up a sword, I knew I was born to wield it.

What do you do to relax?

I like to work in the forge. Until meeting Asgerd, I thought there was nothing I would rather do than make weapons and train, but being with her. . .I can’t put into words how it makes me feel. I love just looking at her, even though I can’t say it’s always relaxing. Most of the time I’m thinking about getting her in the bed closet.

What do you like best about Asgerd?

Her courage, her kindness and her trustworthiness. Even while suffering at Stein’s hands, she never lost heart. She’s a beautiful woman with the soul of a warrior.

It’s rumored that you’re a shape shifter. Is that true?

[Snorts with laughter.] Meet me in battle and find out.

Would you share an excerpt from Northman’s Pleasure?

Of course.

Excerpt from Northman’s Pleasure:

Other than curtly answering a few questions from his men, Grim ate in silence. When his mead ran low, Asgerd approached to offer him more.

“I’ve had enough,” he said. “It’s been a long day. I’m going to sleep. Are you coming?”

She moistened her full lips and said, “After I help clean up.”

Grim had the feeling she was using domestic duties as an excuse to avoid him. Slaves could finish clearing the table.

“Don’t be too long,” he said. “I don’t like being disturbed when I’m sleeping.”

Her eyes flashed and Grim nearly smiled. She’d been so passive since Stein’s death. He’d wondered what happened to the woman who had so bravely fought her captor. It seemed she just needed a little goading to bring out her spirit.

He rose and walked to the bed closet. It was tidy, and as requested, Stein’s belongings had been removed, except for his weapons. The sword, daggers and axe hung on the wall. The women had been right to leave them. Extra weapons were useful and these were of a decent quality.

He removed his armor and weapons and placed them on the bed. Then he opened the wooden trunk at the foot of it. Finding only women’s clothes inside, he couldn’t resist touching the fabric, knowing it belonged to Asgerd. His stomach tightened. They wouldn’t be sharing merely a bed closet, but their lives.

A sobering thought.

He pulled off his boots and placed them in the corner, then he undressed and put his clothes beside Asgerd’s in the trunk. Naked, he climbed beneath the furs. Sighing, he closed his eyes and tried to relax, but couldn’t. He had too much to think about.

He wasn’t sure how much time had passed before Asgerd entered the bed closet. Apparently she thought him asleep since she moved so quietly that even he, with his keen senses, could scarcely hear her.

When she slid beneath the furs, his heartbeat quickened. He waited for the sensation of her warm curves against his. The bed was fairly small so she was bound to touch him. Yet she didn’t.

Grim turned toward her and found her lying close to the edge of the bed, her back to him.

“Everything cleaned up?” he asked, unsure of what else to say. He wanted to talk to her, but Grim wasn’t much of a conversationalist, especially with women. Talking to his men or his brothers was different. They had common interests and shared duties.

Even the few women he’d bedded simply to release tension, he hadn’t spoken to. Most of them hadn’t wanted to talk either. The only woman he’d engaged in extended conversation was his sister-in-law and there was no attraction between them. Asgerd was different, in particular because tomorrow she would be his wife.

“Yes.”

“You don’t have to sleep so far away you know.”

He heard her draw a deep breath before she turned to face him. Her eyes glistened in the fading lantern light. “You expect to have me tonight so you can call off the wedding tomorrow.”

Typical that a woman would think of something deceitful.

“Why would I do that?”

“Why not? Why should I believe you want to marry me when you’ve never shown an interest in me before?”

“I had my reasons.”

“Maybe because you thought my father would try to force marriage upon you. Now, after what Stein did, I don’t matter anymore.”

“You matter very much to your father. Why else would he have sent me and his best warriors to avenge you?”

“Was he avenging me or showing the world that he wouldn’t be taken advantage of by the likes of Stein?”

“Probably both.”

She snorted. “Well that was honest.”

“I’m an honest man. Get used to it.”

“Then why the sudden interest?”

He reached out to touch her cheek. It was so soft and smooth. He wanted to touch the rest of her, but held back. Stein had hurt her in spirit as well as in body. Unfortunately he knew from experience the former was harder to heal.

“Maybe the interest isn’t sudden,” he admitted. “You’re a beautiful woman. A man would have to be dead not to notice you.”

From Ellora’s Cave

http://www.ellorascave.com/northman-s-pleasure.html

Northman’s Pleasure is the sequel to Northman’s Passion.

About Kate Hill

Always a fan of romance and the paranormal, Kate Hill started writing over twenty years ago for pleasure. Her first story, a short erotic vampire tale, was accepted for publication in 1996. Since then she has sold over one hundred short stories, novellas and novels. Kate also writes under the pen name Saloni Quinby.

When she’s not working on her books, Kate enjoys reading, working out and spending time with her family and pets.

She enjoys hearing from readers and she can be contacted at katehill@sprintmail.com. Visit her online at http://www.kate-hill.com.

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

4 thoughts on “Guest Writer Wednesday: Kate Hill”

Leave a Reply

