Guest Writer Wednesday: Megan Slayer

SweetAndWildFinalToday we were going to have the ever-talented and prolific Megan Slayer with us again, and she was going to share some information about her book Sweet and Wild… But Callum from the book had other ideas! We are interviewing Callum instead, folks, so sit back and enjoy!

***

CD: I’m sitting here with Sara Jay, apparently doing an interview. I should tell you a little bit about me. My name is Callum Donaughue and I’m in the record business. Sounds crazy with everyone listening to digital music, but there is still a call for CDs and records. I’m on the scouting team. I look for new talent and help get them signed to the Decibel Records.

Thanks for having me here Sara Jay. Always nice to talk about the business.

SJ: You’re a shifter. Which kind of shifter are you?

CD: Oh, you wanted to know about that. I’m a wolf shifter. The wolf isn’t as dominant in me as some shifters, but he’s very much there. The moment I saw Sarah, I knew I had to have her for my own.

SJ: You’ve got a thing for women named Sara?

CD: I do. My Sarah works at a beading store and tells me more than I ever wanted to know about stringing beads together. Apparently there is even beading fan fiction. I never knew about that and can’t wrap my head around it. But yes, she’s my soul mate.

SJ: When did you know you wanted her? Did the wolf let you know?

CD: I made the mistake of doubting my wolf. I knew I shouldn’t, but I had a job to do and love didn’t  factor into that equation. My wolf knew right away she belonged to us. If he’d have had his way, he’d have humped her leg right then and there. Thankfully I kept him in check.

SJ: Has there ever been a time when the wolf totally took over?

CD: When she’s in trouble. My wolf and I can’t handle seeing Sarah upset or hurting. I’ll risk life and limb to protect her. So will he. The other time was when I claimed her, but that’s another story.

SJ: You don’t look like a wolf. How do I know you’re not putting me on?

CD: Ah, you’re a disbeliever? Think I’ll do my party trick and shift right in front of you? Sorry. Won’t do that today. I like this suit. You see, when I shift, my clothes tear, so being nude at the moment of shifting is handy. I like you and all, but I’m not keen on getting naked in public. I don’t like getting arrested for public indecency. But since you asked about me putting you on, here look. (Opens his mouth, flashing his elongated fangs.) See? Those aren’t anything you can buy in the store or online.

SJ: Cool! You find new bands. How do you know when a band is really going to work out? How do you know what band you want?

CD: I go to a lot of concerts. Usually in little clubs and smaller venues. Bands that haven’t been discovered tend to play those places and it’s easy to slip into the crowd and check them out. When I hear a sound—a band—that really moves me, I pounce. I’ve gotten good at not showing my cards, but I will do my best to sign them to Decibel. Some bands, like Glow, are just a kick to the gut, never heard anything like that before, kind of sound. Some bands are still figuring themselves out. The trick is to find that band that’s got its own kind of monster going on and helping them foster their creativity to make them really great.

SJ: Are there any other members of the record company who we’ll see in this series?

CD: I’ve got the feeling Krieg will show up. That wolf needs a good woman or man to settle him down. He’s a nice guy, but he’s a loner. Needs someone to ground him. Yeah, I could see him getting his story told very soon.

* * * * * * *

Sweet and Wild

Glow Book 7

Megan Slayer

M/F, light BDSM, toys

Novella

From Changeling Press

Finding his counterpart is the easy part. Making things permanent — now there’s a tricky situation.

Sarah never planned to fall in love with a wolf — things just happened that way. He’s back, but is she ready to hand over her heart? Or will she make him work for what he wants?

Callum knew the moment he met Sarah she was the woman for him. But life took him away from her. He’s willing to do whatever she asks if it means having her in his arms.

Will they find the love they both deserve or will forces beyond their control shatter their sweet and wild dreams before they even get started?

 

Available at

Changeling Press:  http://changelingpress.com/product.php?&upt=book&ubid=2067

amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sweet-and-Wild-Glow-ebook/dp/B00DYG7O6K/ref=sr_1_20?ie=UTF8&qid=1374102921&sr=8-20&keywords=megan+slayer

BN: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sweet-and-wild-megan-slayer/1116055520?ean=2940148491965

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-sweetandwildglow-1241472-340.html

 

EXCERPT:

 

Callum folded his arms, then stared out the window. The Cleveland skyline glittered below them, and gulls swirled on the breeze. He rubbed his forehead and sighed. He’d been away for too long. Everything looked normal and completely different at the same time. Of all the things he missed, he wanted to see Sarah again. Everything about her had imprinted itself on his brain. He could almost smell the fresh scent of her shampoo and the silk of her skin. His wolf growled and paced. Memories of her weren’t enough.

She made his heart beat and his wolf calm, but the damned job had kept him away from her. He hadn’t talked to her in so long, but he highly doubted she’d waited for him. A beautiful woman like her probably had men calling her every night. All he could do now was hope she’d still talk to him.

“Hey.” Ansen’s footsteps thumped on the plush carpet behind him. “I’m glad to see you’re back in time.”

Callum turned around and unfolded his arms, then shook hands with his best friend and cousin. “I’m glad to be back.” Out of habit, he sniffed the air. He knew his cousin like the back of his hand, but he couldn’t suppress the instinctual need to check his surroundings. His wolf settled.

“Looks like you picked up some great demos while you were away.” Ansen slid his finger over the tablet, then sat down on his leather armchair. “Proud of you.”

“Thanks,” Callum mumbled.

“Can’t wait to meet the bands.” Ansen scooted the tablet away from him on his desk, then leaned back in his seat. “Are you okay? You look like you could rip out my throat.”

“No, I’m — I need to talk to you.” He sank down in the leather chair across from the desk. “Things are complicated.”

“You met another wolf and are afraid she won’t fit into the pack? There’s only the four of us, now that Krieg showed up.”

“No.” He frowned. “I meant with Sarah. How did you know Willow was your counterpart?”

“The first time we made love I knew. Instincts.”

“Really?”

“Really. Sarah’s still angry you walked away from her. Trust me — Willow lets me know all the time.” Ansen sighed and laced his fingers together. “Why? Do you think she’s yours?”

“I tried to call her. Many times.” A dull ache started at the base of Callum’s skull. Sarah managed to stay on his mind, no matter how many times he tried to forget her.

“And?” Ansen leaned forward, resting his elbows on his desk.

“The calls never went through. It’s stupid. We — I can’t get her out of my system, and yet I can’t get in touch with her. I think she’s mine. She’s sweet and wild and everything I want.”

“Yeah, don’t give me any more details. I love her like a sister, and I don’t need to know what you two did.”

“Har.” If anyone could be droll, Ansen was the man. Callum rolled his eyes. “There isn’t much to tell. I want her, I left her. She’s angry with me and rightly so. If I had any brains, I’d leave her the hell alone so she could move on with her life.”

“Go to her house.”

 

 

* * * * *

Megan’s site: http://wendizwaduk.com/indexMegan.htm

Megan’s blog: http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com

Megan on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/meganslayer

Megan on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5330530.Megan_Slayer

Megan on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/theauthormeganslayer

Megan on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/MeganSlayer

AuthorGraph: http://www.authorgraph.com/authors/MeganSlayer

When she’s not writing the stories in her head, Megan Slayer can be found luxuriating in her hot tub with her two vampire Cabana boys, Luke and Jeremy. She has the tendency to run a tad too far with her muse, so she has to hide in the head of her alter ego, but the boys don’t seem to mind.

When she’s not obsessing over her whip collection, she can be found picking up her kidlet from school. She enjoys writing in all genres, but writing about men in love suits her fancy best. The cabana boys are willing to serve, unless she needs them. She always need them. So be nice to Javier or he will bite–on command.

She also masquerades under the name Wendi Zwaduk and is published through Changeling Press, Decadent Publishing , Liquid Silver Books, MLR Press, Resplendence Publishing, and Total-E-Bound Publishing.

 

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “Guest Writer Wednesday: Megan Slayer”

Leave a Reply

