Guest Writer Wednesday: Victoria Roder

100_0263Today our guest writer is Victoria Roder. Victoria has a lot to share with us today and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Share a little bit about your writing style. What genres and types of heroes/heroines are you attracted to? What do you love to write about? I love flawed characters because I think the majority of us can relate to being a little flawed, a little self-conscious, a little human. My novels are paranormal ghost stories, and murder mystery. I also write children’s books, middle grade adventure, picture books, and puzzle books for teens . I don’t outline and if the characters stop talking to me, a motorcycle ride clears my head and helps me work out plot ideas.

What can we expect when we experience one of your books? Turmoil from the past, danger, age-old revenge, a little romance, and somebody is going to die. Well, not in my children’s books.

Tell us a little about your latest release, or your favorite among all of your books. My dark fiction novel, Haunting of Ingersull Penitentiary released in August from Muse It Up Publishing.

hauntingofingersullpenitentiary200x300Converting the former federal prison Ingersull Penitentiary, into The Big House Inn swallowed Hailey Price’s inheritance from her murdered mother and deceased father’s estate. But, with any luck, the rumors of the federal complex being haunted will boost interest of the Inn. The abandoned Penitentiary, cursed by a witch, is in a constant battle of good versus evil, an eternal struggle for the souls that enter the complex.

The residual haunts are the least of the frightening occurrences at the Inn. An electrical storm traps the visitors with a possessed Ouija board and the spirit of a condemned witch and an ancient curse. It might be Heaven checking into The Big House Inn, but it’s Hell checking out.

Available at https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore/index.php/coming-soon/haunting-of-ingersull-penitentiary-detail

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Haunting-of-Ingersull-Penitentiary-ebook/dp/B00EOUPB2Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1377570281&sr=1-1&keywords=Haunting+of+Ingersull+Penitentiary

If you could have one date with a crush (before marrying your spouse if necessary!), who would it be and why? What would you do?  Dwayne Johnson also known as The Rock. I really have enjoyed some of the movies he has been in such as, Gridiron Gang, The Rundown, Get Smart, The Other Guys, and Walking Tall.  What would we do? It wouldn’t be going out to eat, because I wouldn’t want him to think I eat too much. We couldn’t go out for drinks because I’d be afraid I’d have one drink too many and babble like a star struck fan. So, what’s left?  Maybe a motorcycle ride.

What’s the most romantic thing someone ever did for you, or that you did for someone else? My husband Ron looks like a typical “Biker”. He’s six-foot-two, he’s well-built with tattoos and a goatee. He’s never been a love gusher. He’s reserved and would always say to me, “Well, if I didn’t love you I wouldn’t have married you.”

For our seventieth anniversary, Ron took me out to a wonderful restaurant I had always wanted to go to. He presented me with an anniversary ring and asked me if I’d marry him again. I was so surprised, but what followed was even better. Out of character for him, he had already contacted my pastor and arranged the details.

BoltAction SmallShare your favorite romantic or sexy song and why you love it so much. I love Josh Turner’s song “Your Man.” The words make me think of the alone time spent with the love of my life. Turner’s amazing voice and the musical arrangement are sexy and add to the mood of the song.

Anything else?

In my action thriller Bolt Action from Champagne Books, Detective Leslie Bolt is a smart talking, gun hording, motorcycle riding investigator forced to work a serial murder case with her sexy ex-lover.  After a childhood of abuse suffered at the hand of her father, Leslie stashes a collection of pistols, revolvers, and even a Browning A-Bolt Stalker Rifle in her broom closet.  The “State Quarter Killer” is taunting police and when Detective Bolt’s sister goes missing, Bolt is hot on the trail.

http://www.amazon.com/Bolt-Action-ebook/dp/B003ZUY58U/ref=pd_rhf_ee_p_t_3

Check out the book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EqcYL_G7h7s

For those of you with children and grandchildren, I also write adventures with value.

Sled Dog Dales from DWB’s Children’s Line

Hold on tight as Lahela Kendall and her sled dog team, starring a silly puppy named Miki, survivie the mishaps and adventures to learn the skills of sled dog racing. Raging waters, sled accidents and cheating racers make for ferrous competition, but one junior musher, along with her misfit puppy, attempts to model ‘The golden Rule’ and treat others how she want to be treated.

http://www.amazon.com/Sled-Dog-Tales-Victoria-Roder/dp/0615876722/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377830118&sr=8-1&keywords=Sled+Dog+Tales

http://www.dwbchildrensline.com/apps/webstore/

The Curse of King Ramesses II from Wild Child Publishing

Spend the night in the dark, deserted museum. Experience the roar of the dinosaurs, the cold blast of the arctic, and always run past the wall of skulls. Be prepared for a night of heart-racing action as Jody and Mia dare to solve the ancient Egyptian curse of King Ramesses II. The girls learn a valuable lesson about lying, but will they survive the investigation of the mummified king’s revenge to make amends?

http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=72&products_id=398&zenid=cd58e59d1e3ab1844861ef8061fd2b35

http://www.amazon.com/The-Curse-King-Ramesses-ebook/dp/B008PHZJ3I/ref=pd_ybh_18

Victoria Roder lives in Central Wisconsin with her husband and house full of pets. She is the author of paranormal thriller Haunting of Ingersull Penitentiary, action thriller Bolt Action, paranormal romance The Dream House Visions and Nightmares. Picture book An Important Job to Do: A Noah’s Ark Tale, children’s chapter books, Sled Dog Tales and The Curse of King Ramesses II, an inspirational book It’s Not You, It’s Them: Six Choices to Healing & Thriving After Abuse, and her short stories have appeared in several anthologies. Victoria also creates puzzles for magazines and activity books and coming soon from DWB children’s line a puzzle book and devotion for teens. Please visit Victoria at www.victoriaroder.com

 

Author: sarajschmidt

I shake you warmly by the hand, and welcome you to my bio! Currently a writer, artist, and freelance explorer, I have played many other roles. I've managed a restaurant, debated across the country, taught children in Spain, run a handful of student organizations and retreats, served as the Editor/Producer/Citizen Journalist Manager for a, sung in choir for many years, volunteered with dozens of organizations and interned with a few, home-schooled a relative, cared for many a pet, and protested a thing or two. I am also married to my dreamy gearhead high school sweetheart, and together we are unschooling with our 10-year-old tenacious and hilarious daughter. Aside from my main passions of writing, art, reading, and generally being as ambitious as possible, I love to play with my daughter, learn new things, have date nights with The Husband, and highlight anything within my reach. Drop me a line at sarajschmidt@gmail.com.

5 thoughts on “Guest Writer Wednesday: Victoria Roder”

Leave a Reply

